Subject: Meet the Intern 24/7 team: Melanie

Screen Shot 2018-04-04 at 19.25.41.png

Melanie Spina

Contributing Writer

January 2018 - Present

MEET MELANIE

(NEW YORK BABE) TITLE GIVEN BY HANNAH

Name: Melanie

Age: 23

Location: Brooklyn, NY

Job Title: Contributing Writer

Favourite part of your job at The Intern 24/7?

My favourite part of working for The Intern 24/7 is not only the amazing team of inspiring ladies but also that I have a chance to possibly help and inspire other young girls out there with their carteer journey. It’s quite rewarding!

If you had Mondays off for the rest of your life… how would you spend them?

Hmm... I think I would take advantage of the long weekend and try to travel as much as I can or if we are being realistic probably just sleep in, watch netflix with my cat, or go to a coffee shop to write

Where do you see yourself in 10 year’s time?

In 10 years I would love to be working in something I truly love and still be writing. My major goal is to eventually get a masters in women’s studies and move to London.

One piece of advice to someone who wants to follow in your career footsteps?

Journalism has become quite an interesting career to follow, now with social media there is a lot of exposure but at the same time that means everyone and anyone is writing or having blogs, so jobs itself become a bit harder to find.

I think the biggest lesson I’ve learned and my number one advice is that there will most likely come a time where you have to work in something that might not be exactly what you want, remember that’s ok. Don’t let a job you’re not crazy about slow you down or move you away from your dream job, I can assure you it is what will help you get closer to it.

What advice would you give to someone who has no clue what they want to do?

You don’t need to know exactly what you have to do right off the bat. Heck I still don’t know what I want to do sometimes and I am already two years out of college. Sometimes what we think we want can turn out to be different and that’s ok.

Take any classes you’re interested in and start doing internships in places that you think you would like. The more hands on experience you get in different fields the sooner you will start to realize what you like and don’t like which will help you define your decision!

One fun fact about you?

I was born and raised in Venezuela!

Where can people find you?
Instagram,Twitter, snapchat: @melspina

Hannah RafterComment